A dangerous actor; Viggo Mortensen wins the 2012 Coolidge Award


The Oscars may have snubbed his performance as Freud (and everybody else) in David Cronenberg's  "A Dangerous Method," but Viggo Mortensen can now claim the perhaps  more substantive Coolidge Award, the annual career achievement honor given out by the Coolidge Corner Theatre.

He's in good company. Previous winners are: Jonathan Demme in 2010 ; the Quay Brothers in 2009; film producer Jeremy Thomas in 2008; film editor Thelma Schoonmaker in 2007; actress Meryl Streep in 2006; and Italian cinematographer Vittorio Storaro in 2005.

Mortensen will arrive on Monday, March 5 and will participate in various activities, including the award ceremony itself. The Coolidge will also run a series of his greatest hits, the titles of which have yet to be announced. No doubt they will include his portrayal of Aragorn in Peter Jackson's adaptation of J.R.R Tolkein's trilogy "The Lord of the Rings."


I hope they also include the less epic but more profound trilogy of his collaborations with Cronenberg, which includes, in addition to the abovementioned "Method," "Eastern Promises" (2007).


and "A History of Violence" (2005.

| More

 Friends' Activity   Popular 
All Blogs
Follow the Phoenix
  • newsletter
  • twitter
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • rss
Latest Comments
Search Blogs
Outside The Frame Archives