bestnom1000x50

[phlipcam video] New Kids On The Block & Backstreet Boys press conference @ Fenway Park

This afternoon at a cold, snow-covered Fenway Park, a decades-old question with deep-rooted Boston implications was finally answered: How do you make Aerosmith look badass? By having the ballpark’s annual summer concert followed up by NEW KIDS ON THE BLOCK.

Oh, well. The summer jam sesh in the shadow of the Green Monster has been a fairly rocking tradition since 2003, welcoming the likes of the Rolling Stones, Bruce Springsteen, the Police and last year, Aerosmith and J. Geils Band in a suddenly, but unfortunately retroactively, appealing lineup. This year’s concert has gone pop. Oh, so pop.

As we all know by now, the homegrown (and we do mean grown) New Kids are teaming up with Florida’s Backstreet Boys, together as NKOTBSB, for a double-boyband bill at Fenway Park on Saturday, June 11. Tickets go on sale Feb. 5 at 10 am via etix.com, livenation.com, or by calling 800-514-3849.

Maybe the best part about this mother-daughter affair is that to make it possible, tour organizers had to postpone and reschedule a previously announced show in New York. The original NY date, at the old-but-remarkably-still-standing Nassau Mausoleum on Long Island, has been moved to July 31, tacked on the end of their 40-date North American run. But while we score another small victory for Boston over the Dirty Apple, we should note the show is exactly one-week after their sold-out gig at the TD Garden. Say lah.

Phlipcam video of the press conference is above (We got a full frontal fivesome of New Kids, but only two Backstreeters were present; AJ McLean is still in rehab, we were told), and tidbits from the press release are below.

 

After weeks of speculation, New Kids on the Block and Backstreet Boys joined the legendary Green Monster today at historic Fenway Park to announce a special once in a lifetime performance at the legendary Boston ballpark on Saturday, June 11th. Fenway tickets go on sale to the public on Saturday, February 5th at 10am ET at etix.com and LiveNation.com or by calling 800-514-3849 TICKETS WILL NOT BE AVAILABLE AT THE FENWAY PARK TICKET OFFICE.

“This is a tremendous honor for us. As a group of South Boston kids we never thought we would get an opportunity like this. Our dreams are coming true,” said New Kids’ Donnie Wahlberg. “And one of the best parts is that we get to share this moment with our friends the Backstreet Boys.”

“We are all so grateful and excited to have this opportunity. It’s a once in a lifetime moment. And to get to experience this with our Boston friends NKOTB puts it on a whole other level.” Added the members of Backstreet Boys.

NKOTBSB first shocked and delighted fans when they took the stage together for a medley at the sold out NKOTB Radio City Music Hall show. The two groups wowed audiences again in their first joint televised performance at the American Music Awards this past November. The performers had the audience on their feet when they unleashed hit after hit including Backstreet’s “I Want It That Way” and NKOTB’s “Hangin’ Tough,” sending the crowd into rip-roaring applause.

With over 200 million albums sold between both bands, and smash hit after smash hit, these two pop sensations have dominated the music scene for over three decades. Aiming to please, these guys are giving concert goers and diehard fans everywhere the ultimate “night out” experience.

For more information please visit www.nkotbsb.com.

CURRENT LIST OF SHOW DATES (As of January 26, 2011)

Thu, June 2 Uncasville, CT Mohegan Sun Arena
Fri, June 3 Washington, DC Verizon Center
Sat, June 4 Boston, MA TD Garden
Sun, June 5 Philadelphia, PA Wells Fargo Center
Tue, June 7 Montreal, QC Bell Centre
Wed, June 8 Toronto, ON Air Canada Centre
Thu, June 9 Toronto, ON Air Canada Centre
Sat, June 11 Boston, MA Fenway Park
Sun, June 12 East Rutherford, NJ Izod Center
Wed, June 15 Pittsburgh, PA Consol Energy Center
Thu, June 16 Detroit, MI The Palace of Auburn Hills
Fri, June 17 Chicago, IL United Center
Sat, June 18 Chicago, IL United Center
Tue, June 21 Nashville, TN Bridgestone Arena
Wed, June 22 Atlanta, GA Philips Arena
Fri, June 24 Lafayette, LA Cajundome
Sat, June 25 Houston, TX Toyota Center
Sun, June 26 Dallas, TX American Airlines Center
Tue, June 28 San Antonio, TX AT&T Center
Thu, June 30 Phoenix, AZ US Airways Center
Fri, July 1 Los Angeles, CA Staples Center
Sat, July 2 San Jose, CA HP Pavilion
Sun, July 3 Las Vegas, NV Mandalay Bay Events Center
Wed, July 6 Anaheim, CA Honda Center
Fri, July 8 Tacoma, WA Tacoma Dome
Sat, July 9 Vancouver, BC Rogers Arena
Sun, July 10 Vancouver, BC Rogers Arena
Tue, July 12 Edmonton, AB Rexall Place
Fri, July 15 Minneapolis, MN Target Center
Sat, July 16 Kansas City, MO Sprint Center
Sun, July 17 Tulsa, OK BOK Center
Tue, July 19 St. Louis, MO Scottrade Center
Wed, July 20 Louisville, KY KFC Yum! Center
Fri, July 22 Orlando, FL Amway Center
Sat, July 23 Greensboro, NC Greensboro Coliseum
Sun, July 24 Columbus, OH Schottenstein Center
Tue, July 26 Indianapolis, IN Conseco Fieldhouse
Wed, July 27 Cleveland, OH Quicken Loans Arena
Fri, July 29 Atlantic City, NJ Boardwalk Hall
Sat, July 30 Hershey, PA Hersheypark Stadium
Sun, July 31 Uniondale, NY Nassau Coliseum

| More


ADVERTISEMENT
 Friends' Activity   Popular 
All Blogs
Follow the Phoenix
  • newsletter
  • twitter
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • rss
ADVERTISEMENT
OTD Categories
Out
VIDEO: Arctic Monkeys at the House of Blues
Rare Frequencies: Trouble and treble
Lady Lee's Lion's Den Playlist
HOMEWORK: Assignment #2: D-Tension
Ticket On-Sale Alert: Muse, Mariah Carey, Black Eyed...
Latest Comments
ADVERTISEMENT
Search Blogs
 
Links
Bradley’s Almanac -
Band in Boston -
Wayne & Wax -
Aurgasm -
Anti-Gravity Bunny -
Clicky Clicky -
Soul Clap -
Lemmingtrail -
WMBR -
WFNX -
Jump the Turnstyle -
Loaded Gun -
Vanyaland -
Ryan's Smashing Life -
Boston Band Crush -
Sleepover Shows -
Boston Accents -
Pilgrims of Sound -
Allston Rat City -
Playground Boston -
I Heart Noise -
On The Download Archives