Kings of Leon, the Strokes, Kanye, Suede, Arcade Fire to headline 2011 Coachella

After what seemed like weeks of hoax posters, rumors, and false alarms, the lineup of this year's Coachella Music & Arts Festival in Indio, California, has been announced -- IN are the Strokes, Kanye West, Kings of Leon, Arcade Fire, Interpol, Duran Duran, PJ Harvey, Crystal Castles, Wire, Bright Eyes, Cold Cave, The National and others; and OUT, bands heavily rumored to be playing but ultimately are not, include U2, Daft Punk, the Rolling Stones, and Paul McCartney.

On the all-important Britpop front, while rumors of the reunited Pulp performing the west coast desert party were unfounded, an incredible surprise for stateside Anglophiles is the inclusion of Suede (let's end that "The London" bullshit, kthx) on Saturday's stage. Suede pretty much swore off America after their gear was stolen from a tour van in Boston after a Paradise Rock Club gig in 1997. Welcome back, boys! 

Quick question: If Brett Anderson of Suede hears Wire performing earlier in the day, will he deliriously freak out and think Justine Frischmann and Elastica were playing instead? It does get hot out there. 

Coachella runs from April 15 to 17, 2011, and expect full on-site coverage from the Boston Phoenix and FNX Radio.

More to come later, but here's the official poster:


| More

 Friends' Activity   Popular 
All Blogs
Follow the Phoenix
  • newsletter
  • twitter
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • rss
OTD Categories
VIDEO: Arctic Monkeys at the House of Blues
Rare Frequencies: Trouble and treble
Lady Lee's Lion's Den Playlist
HOMEWORK: Assignment #2: D-Tension
Ticket On-Sale Alert: Muse, Mariah Carey, Black Eyed...
Latest Comments
Search Blogs
Bradley’s Almanac -
Band in Boston -
Wayne & Wax -
Aurgasm -
Anti-Gravity Bunny -
Clicky Clicky -
Soul Clap -
Lemmingtrail -
Jump the Turnstyle -
Loaded Gun -
Vanyaland -
Ryan's Smashing Life -
Boston Band Crush -
Sleepover Shows -
Boston Accents -
Pilgrims of Sound -
Allston Rat City -
Playground Boston -
I Heart Noise -
On The Download Archives